Indoor Attractions in Toronto: 8 Picks for Rainy Days

Curved dark wooden walls of a spiral staircase inside a Toronto art gallery, in black and white.

The best Toronto indoor attractions are the CN Tower, Ripley's Aquarium, the Hockey Hall of Fame, the Royal Ontario Museum and the Art Gallery of Ontario. Eight picks follow, grouped by area, with hours, costs, how to reach each one by TTC (Toronto Transit Commission), and a plain count of how many wet days Toronto gets.

Toronto has no dry season, so a plan for Toronto indoor attractions is worth having in any month. Environment and Climate Change Canada's 1991 to 2020 averages for the Toronto City station count 150.2 days a year with at least 0.2 mm of rain or snow. That is roughly one day in 2.4. January is the wettest month with 16.3 such days, and August is the driest with 9.5. The picks below are grouped by area, so one wet day stays in one part of town.

1. CN Tower: indoor views by Union Station

The CN Tower is the easiest first stop, because the main sights are inside glass. The ticket covers the Main Observation Level, the Lower Observation Level with its glass floor, an outdoor terrace and an interactive art space, as the CN Tower's ticket page describes. Each ticket type, and where the booking link goes, is explained on our page about CN Tower tickets.

The Tower says it is open all year, with the Observation Levels open from 10 a.m. to 11 p.m. and last entry at 9 p.m. Main Observation Level hours are adjusted on 3, 6, 14, 15, 19 and 25 November and on 1 December. A timed adult ticket is CA$47 before tax, and tickets are final sale. The Tower's pages do not say how rain or low cloud changes the view, so look at the forecast before you pay.

Here is what each pick costs. The CN Tower, Hockey Hall of Fame and Casa Loma post adult prices in Canadian dollars, before tax: CA$47, CA$29.95 and CA$45. The other five are euro prices per person from GetYourGuide listings: Ripley's from €30, Royal Ontario Museum from €17, Art Gallery of Ontario from €19, Museum of Illusions from €22 and Arcadia Earth from €35. The two currencies differ, so do not compare them straight across. You buy the CN Tower ticket from the Tower itself, with no listing here, and it is final sale. We found no operator price for Ripley's or Arcadia Earth, and the AGO's own prices were not confirmed.

None of the eight is a guided tour. Every ticket is plain entry, and here is what each one gives you. The CN Tower ticket covers both observation levels, the terrace and the art space. Ripley's covers the nine galleries, the live dive shows and the stingray touch pools. The Hockey Hall of Fame covers the interactive exhibits, a feature film and Lord Stanley's Vault. The ROM and the AGO ticket cover general admission only, and the AGO leaves out special exhibitions. Casa Loma's admission adds a documentary and a mobile audio guide. The Museum of Illusions ticket covers entry, and the Arcadia Earth ticket adds an augmented reality app.

Union Station is the closest stop for the TTC, GO Transit and UP Express. The Tower's getting here page says the SkyWalk joins Union Station to the Tower. The main entrance is at 290 Bremner Boulevard. If you want a meal with the view, our guide to the 360 Restaurant at the CN Tower covers what the minimum spend includes.

Pro Tip Pair the CN Tower with Ripley's Aquarium. They stand at 290 and 288 Bremner Boulevard, so one wet morning needs no long walk between them.

2. Ripley's Aquarium of Canada: the other half of Bremner Boulevard

Ripley's Aquarium is a full indoor visit for any age. Ripley's recommends at least two to three hours. The aquarium is at 288 Bremner Boulevard, next door to the CN Tower. It has no parking of its own, so ride the TTC to Union Station.

A timed ticket needs a date and a one-hour entry window. A 1 p.m. ticket enters between 1 and 2 p.m. Ripley's says peak hours on summer weekdays and holidays run from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m., and its "Save $5 After 5" offer takes CA$5 off visits that start from 5 p.m. Ripley's own pages do not give one fixed price, so we do not quote one. For the exhibits, see our page on Ripley's Aquarium.

You do not need a guided tour here. Ripley's sells entry tickets, and nobody leads you around. Book the listing for a set date and free cancellation, or buy from Ripley's own site.

You can trust the listing's basics. The operator is Ripley's Aquarium of Canada, and GetYourGuide marks it as an official ticket. Travellers rate it 4.6 from 2,358 reviews, which is a large sample. Free cancellation runs up to 24 hours ahead for a full refund. There is no separate meeting point: you go to 288 Bremner Boulevard. A small group option exists, and the listing gives no size. It lists live dive shows, stingray touch pools and local taxes in the price. Children under 2 go free with a paying adult.

The other five tickets in this guide follow the same pattern. Each names the venue as its operator, and each offers free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead. Only the Royal Ontario Museum carries the official mark besides Ripley's. The Hockey Hall of Fame rates 4.7 from 518 reviews, the ROM 4.6 from 1,582 and the AGO 4.6 from 322. The Museum of Illusions rates 4.1 from 75 reviews, and Arcadia Earth 4.1 from only 35, so judge those two with care.

Visit lengths across this list differ a lot. The CN Tower takes about 1.5 hours, and Ripley's recommends 2 to 3 hours. The Hockey Hall of Fame listing puts the average visit at about 3 hours. The Museum of Illusions allows 45 minutes on its timed ticket, and its listing says about 1 hour. No official page gives a length for the Royal Ontario Museum, Casa Loma, the Art Gallery of Ontario or Arcadia Earth. The ROM's visitor page and Casa Loma's visit page list hours but no length. The listings for the ROM, the AGO and Arcadia Earth only say the ticket is valid for one day.

The Ripley's Aquarium ticket is listed from €30 per person, run by Ripley's Aquarium of Canada, with free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead. It counts nine galleries and leaves out food and drink. Travellers give it 4.6 from 2,358 reviews.

3. Hockey Hall of Fame: the PATH walk from Union Station

The Hockey Hall of Fame is a good wet-day stop if anyone in your group likes sport, and you can walk to it mostly underground. It sits in Brookfield Place at 30 Yonge Street. The City of Toronto's PATH page describes the PATH as a downtown walkway of more than 30 kilometres that is mostly underground. It says the walkway links Union Station, six subway stations and the Hockey Hall of Fame.

In fall, winter and spring the Hall is open daily from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. It is closed on 9 November, 24 and 25 December, and 1 January 2027. Induction weekend on 7 and 8 November has shorter hours. General admission is CA$29.95 for ages 14 to 64, CA$19.95 for youth aged 4 to 13, and free for ages 3 and under, plus taxes. The exhibits are on our page about the Hockey Hall of Fame.

The Hockey Hall of Fame ticket is listed from €22 per person, with free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead. The page puts the average visit at about 3 hours, and the Stanley Cup souvenir photo costs extra. Rating: 4.7 from 518 reviews.

Two indoor routes from Union Station Start at Union Station, then pick a route Union Station TTC, GO, UP Express SkyWalk PATH CN Tower 290 Bremner Boulevard Hockey Hall of Fame 30 Yonge Street Routes from the CN Tower's and the City of Toronto's own pages.

4. Royal Ontario Museum: dinosaurs, world cultures and a free floor

The Royal Ontario Museum, or ROM, is the biggest indoor pick uptown. It is at 100 Queen's Park. The ROM says to ride the subway to Museum Station, and its location page names St. George Station as the closest stop on Bloor Street. The galleries are covered on our page about the Royal Ontario Museum.

The ROM, the AGO, the Hockey Hall of Fame and the rooms of Casa Loma are all indoor visits, so rain or snow does not change what you see. The Aga Khan Museum works on a wet day too, because its galleries and café are inside, though its park is outdoors. Outdoor parts can close: Casa Loma's Lower Gardens and Terrace are shut for the season. No official page lists a weather closure for any museum here, so plan on the normal hours. The ROM is open 10 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. on open days, the Hockey Hall of Fame 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily and Casa Loma 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily. The AGO's hours come from an unconfirmed search excerpt, so confirm them before you go.

The ROM's October hours calendar shows it open from 10 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. on open days and closed on Mondays, but the museum posts no weekly schedule, so check the calendar. Admission prices change by date, and buying earlier is cheaper. Until 29 November 2026 the Free Main Floor is open with an advance ticket. Every third Tuesday evening, from 4 to 8:30 p.m., the whole museum is free. PRESTO and GO Transit riders save 15% on regular admission, as the ROM's visitor page says.

The ROM admission ticket is listed from €17 per person, run by the Royal Ontario Museum, with free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead. Food and drink are not allowed inside, the listing says. It has a 4.6 rating from 1,582 reviews.

5. Casa Loma: a castle tour a short climb from Dupont Station

Casa Loma is a good indoor pair for the ROM, because both sit on the same side of the city. You tour the rooms inside the castle, and the admission includes a documentary about Sir Henry Pellatt and a mobile audio guide. It is open daily from 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., with last admission at 4:30 p.m.

General admission is CA$45 for adults aged 18 to 64, CA$40 for seniors and youth aged 14 to 17, and CA$30 for children aged 4 to 13. Children under 3 are free with a ticketed adult. The address is 1 Austin Terrace. Casa Loma's directions page says to ride to Dupont Station, walk north on Spadina Avenue, then climb the 110 Baldwin Steps. Parking is a flat CA$20.

On 30 October the Lower Gardens and Terrace were closed for the season, with no reopening date. Casa Loma's pages do not state a refund policy or a suggested visit length. Ask Guest Services at info@casaloma.ca before you buy if that matters to you.

The Art Gallery of Ontario, or AGO, is the pick for a long, quiet afternoon or an evening. It is at 317 Dundas Street West, according to the ticket listing. The AGO's site blocked our automated reading, so we could not open its visit page. A search excerpt of that page lists these hours: Tuesday and Thursday 10:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., Wednesday and Friday 10:30 a.m. to 9 p.m., weekends 10:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., and closed Monday. Confirm them on the AGO's site before you go.

The AGO's own prices and its free-entry rules were not confirmed either, so we state none. The Toronto CityPASS lists the AGO as one of its reservation attractions. The CityPASS page says to reserve it in the My CityPASS app.

The AGO general admission ticket is listed from €19 per person, run by the Art Gallery of Ontario, with free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead. Special exhibitions are not included. Rating: 4.6 from 322 reviews.

7. Museum of Illusions: a 45-minute stop on Front Street East

The Museum of Illusions is a short, playful stop, not a full day. Destination Ontario's listing says it is at 132 Front Street East and open daily from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tickets are timed, and they allow for a 45-minute visit. The listing counts more than 70 art installations, including a kaleidoscope room, an Anti-Gravity Room, a Smart Playroom, a Cloning Table and holograms that pop out of their frame. It also lists ramps, an accessible washroom and a welcome for service animals.

The listing gives no ticket price. The Museum of Illusions ticket is listed from €22 per person for about 1 hour, with free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead. The ticket listing adds a vortex tunnel that feels like shifting ground, a game room with 3D puzzles and brain teasers, and hologram photo spots. It counts over 100 exhibits, a different number from the 70 above, so treat both counts as rough. It is not suitable for people with vertigo, the listing says. The rating is 4.1 from 75 reviews, so read that as mixed. For a two-hour block, pair it with another pick nearby.

The Aga Khan Museum is not one of the eight picks, but it is worth the trip if you want a quieter museum away from downtown. Its official visit page lists two exhibition galleries, a courtyard café and the Aga Khan Park outside. It is at 77 Wynford Drive. Adults pay CA$20, and youth aged 25 and under are free. Wednesday from 4 to 8 p.m. is free too. The museum is open 10 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Tuesday and Thursday to Sunday, 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Wednesday, and closed Monday. To get there, take the Eglinton Crosstown LRT (light rail) to Aga Khan Park and Museum Station, or a bus from Broadview or Pape subway station. The page gives no visit length.

Key Takeaway The SkyWalk joins Union Station to the CN Tower, and the PATH joins Union Station to the Hockey Hall of Fame, so two of the biggest picks start from one station.

8. Arcadia Earth: an immersive art room on Front Street West

Arcadia Earth is an immersive art experience, and it is the pick we can confirm least. We found no official page that opened, so we give no opening hours or ticket price from the operator. The ticket listing puts it at 486 Front Street West, building C. It says the ticket includes entry and an app with augmented reality, and that parking is not included.

The Arcadia Earth ticket is listed from €35 per person, with free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead. The rating is 4.1 from only 35 reviews, a small sample. It is the most expensive per person of the six GetYourGuide tickets here, so book it only if immersive art is what you want. Check the day's hours with the operator first.

How to choose indoor attractions in Toronto

Pick by area first, then by how long you want to stay. The table sorts all eight picks by area, time and cost.

PickAreaTimeCost shownWatch out for
1. CN TowerUnion StationAbout 1.5 hoursCA$47 adultFinal sale; some Main Level hours change in November
2. Ripley's AquariumBremner Boulevard2 to 3 hoursFrom €30 (listing)Peak hours from 11 a.m.
3. Hockey Hall of FameYonge and FrontAbout 3 hours (listing)CA$29.95 adultClosed on 9 November
4. Royal Ontario MuseumUptownNot statedFrom €17 (listing)Closed Mondays in October
5. Casa LomaUptownNot statedCA$45 adultGardens closed; no refund policy shown
6. Art Gallery of OntarioDundas Street WestNot statedFrom €19 (listing)Hours from a search excerpt
7. Museum of IllusionsFront Street East45 minutesFrom €22 (listing)Short; not for vertigo
8. Arcadia EarthFront Street WestNot statedFrom €35 (listing)No official page read

The Best Travel Destinations' count of GetYourGuide listings for Toronto in October 2026 found 12 entry tickets to indoor sights, including museums, the aquarium, Casa Loma, the Hockey Hall of Fame and immersive rooms. Book the timed ones ahead, because Ripley's and the CN Tower both sell by date and time.

TTC fares are simple for a mixed day. An adult fare is CA$3.30 with PRESTO or a tapped bank card, and children 12 and under ride free, as the TTC's fares page says. A separate guide to getting around Toronto shows how the subway links the downtown and uptown groups. Travelling with children? See our guide to family things to do in Toronto.

The honest limit of this list is its age. Hours, closures and prices change by date, and two picks here, the AGO and Arcadia Earth, rest on partial information. Open each hours page on the morning you go.

A wet day in a big city goes best when you pick one neighbourhood and stay in it.

Book indoor tickets ahead for a wet day

Six indoor tickets cover the aquarium, the museums, the Hockey Hall of Fame and two immersive rooms, from €17 for the Royal Ontario Museum to €35 for Arcadia Earth. None is a guided tour, so you do not need a tour for any of them. Each listing names the venue as its operator and offers a full refund when you cancel up to 24 hours ahead, as GetYourGuide states it. Book a listing when you want a set date and free cancellation, and buy from the venue itself when it posts its own price. Nobody picks you up: you meet at the venue's address, and no listing says more. Only the Museum of Illusions gives a group size, up to 8 people, while Ripley's says only that a small group option exists. Two listings state a length: the Hockey Hall of Fame about 3 hours and the Museum of Illusions 1 hour. Ripley's, the ROM, the AGO and Arcadia Earth state none. Left out of the price are food and drink at Ripley's, special exhibitions at the AGO, parking at Arcadia Earth and Stanley Cup photos at the Hockey Hall of Fame. GetYourGuide marks the Ripley's and Royal Ontario Museum listings as official tickets. The four big venues rate 4.6 to 4.7, while the Museum of Illusions rates 4.1 from 75 reviews and Arcadia Earth 4.1 from only 35.

  • Ripley's Aquarium of Canada ticket

    from €30 per person

    Nine galleries, a shark tunnel and touch pools beside the CN Tower, run by Ripley's Aquarium of Canada and marked as an official ticket; rated 4.6 from 2,358 reviews; from €30 per person with free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead; you meet at 288 Bremner Boulevard; no length is listed, a small group option exists with no size given, and food and drink are not included.

    4.6 (2,358 reviews) Free cancellation

    Run by Ripley's Aquarium of Canada

    Check availability: Ripley's Aquarium of Canada ticket on GetYourGuide
  • Hockey Hall of Fame entry ticket

    from €22 per person

    Hockey exhibits and Lord Stanley's Vault at Yonge and Front, run by the Hockey Hall of Fame; rated 4.7 from 518 reviews; from €22 per person with free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead; you meet at 30 Yonge Street; the average visit is about 3 hours, no group size is listed, and Stanley Cup photos cost extra.

    1-day ticket 4.6 (518 reviews) Free cancellation

    Run by Hockey Hall of Fame

    Check availability: Hockey Hall of Fame entry ticket on GetYourGuide
  • Royal Ontario Museum admission ticket

    from €17 per person

    Natural history and world cultures uptown, run by the Royal Ontario Museum and marked as an official ticket; rated 4.6 from 1,582 reviews; from €17 per person with free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead; you meet at 100 Queen's Park; no visit length or group size is listed, and food and drink are not allowed inside.

    1-day ticket 4.6 (1,582 reviews) Free cancellation

    Run by Royal Ontario Museum

    Check availability: Royal Ontario Museum admission ticket on GetYourGuide
  • Art Gallery of Ontario general admission

    from €19 per person

    The permanent collection on Dundas Street West, run by the AGO; rated 4.6 from 322 reviews; from €19 per person with free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead; you meet at 317 Dundas Street West; no visit length or group size is listed, and special exhibitions are not included.

    1-day ticket 4.6 (322 reviews) Free cancellation

    Run by Art Gallery of Ontario - AGO

    Check availability: Art Gallery of Ontario general admission on GetYourGuide
  • Museum of Illusions entry ticket

    from €22 per person

    A short, playful stop on Front Street East, run by Museum of Illusions Toronto; rated 4.1 from 75 reviews, so treat it as mixed; from €22 per person with free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead; you meet at 132 Front Street East; the listing says up to 8 people and about 1 hour, and it is not for people with vertigo.

    1 hour 4.1 (75 reviews) Free cancellation

    Run by Museum of Illusions Toronto · not suitable for people with vertigo

    Check availability: Museum of Illusions entry ticket on GetYourGuide
  • Arcadia Earth immersive experience ticket

    from €35 per person

    An immersive art room on Front Street West, run by Arcadia Earth; rated 4.1 from only 35 reviews; from €35 per person with free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead; you meet at 486 Front Street West, building C; no visit length or group size is listed, and parking is not included.

    1-day ticket 4.0 (35 reviews) Free cancellation

    Run by Arcadia Earth

    Check availability: Arcadia Earth immersive experience ticket on GetYourGuide

Prices and ratings as shown on GetYourGuide.

CN Tower tickets and what you see on the indoor levels

FAQ

How many rainy days in Toronto?

Environment and Climate Change Canada counts 150.2 days a year with at least 0.2 mm of rain or snow at its Toronto City station, based on 1991 to 2020 averages. That is about 12 or 13 days in a typical month. October averages 11.4 such days, November 13.0, December 13.7 and January 16.3. August is the driest month, with 9.5.

How many rain days in Toronto?

The official average counts rain and snow together, so it gives 150.2 days a year with at least 0.2 mm of precipitation. Environment Canada also publishes a rain-only row, but the page we opened did not show a full set of monthly values for it. We do not give a rain-only count. In winter, many of the wet days are snow days.

Is a tour worth it for indoor attractions in Toronto, or should I go on my own?

Go on your own. Every ticket in this guide is plain entry, so no guide is involved and nobody collects you. You meet at the venue's address. Book a GetYourGuide listing when you want a set date and free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead. Buy from the venue itself when it posts its own price, as the CN Tower, the Hockey Hall of Fame and Casa Loma do.

Is the Aga Khan Museum worth a visit in Toronto?

Yes, if you want a quieter museum away from the downtown crowd. Its official page lists two exhibition galleries, a courtyard café and the Aga Khan Park outside. Adults pay CA$20, youth aged 25 and under are free, and Wednesday from 4 to 8 p.m. is free. It is open 10 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Tuesday and Thursday to Sunday, 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. Wednesday, and closed Monday. The page gives no visit length.

Conclusion

For a rainy day, pick one area and stay in it. Downtown, start at the CN Tower, add Ripley's Aquarium next door, and use the PATH walkway from Union Station to reach the Hockey Hall of Fame. Uptown, pair the Royal Ontario Museum with Casa Loma. Keep the Art Gallery of Ontario for an evening or a second wet day, and treat the two small rooms on Front Street as short extras, not a full plan. Book timed tickets ahead, and check each hours page on the morning you go.

Sources